This weekend sees a number of buildings normally closed to the public flinging their doors wide open to visitors.
West Lothian Doors Open Days is running again this year courtesy of Linlithgow Civic Trust, which organises the event on behalf of West Lothian Council.
The list of properties which will be opening locally is:
Kingscavil Church, EH49 6NA. Open Saturday, September 13, 11am-4pm. Guides are available at this location which has facilities and refreshments. Kingscavil, built in 1902 in an early English gothic style, has a circular apse with stencil and gilt work, as well as a star-spangled ceiling.
St Michael’s RC Church, 53 Blackness Road, Linlithgow, EH49 7JA. Open Saturday, September 13, noon-3pm. The church is accessible throughout the day but afternoon is recommended as the best time to examine the building (no guides).
St Ninian’s Craigmailen Parish Church, Falkirk Road, Linlithgow, EH49 7BQ. Open Saturday, September 13, 1-4pm. Facilities are available in Longcroft Memorial Hall. Church history available.
St Peter’s Scottish Episcopal Church, 153 High Street, Linlithgow, EH49 7EJ. Open Saturday, September 13, 1-4pm. A church history will be available.
Union Canal Basin and Canal House Tours, Linlithgow Canal Centre, Manse Road Basin, Linlithgow, EH49 6AJ. Open Saturday, September 13. Activities: Two-part tours of Canal House and the Union Canal Basin, 2pm, 2.30pm and 3pm, with guides. Booking essential on 01506 842452. This is an opportunity to view the interior of Canal House (built circa 1835). The Canal Centre will be running boat trips. (Not part of Doors Open Days).
Annet House Museum and Garden, 143 High Street, Linlithgow, EH49 7EJ. Open Saturday, September 13 and Sunday, September 14, 11am-5pm. Activities: Guided tours of house and rig garden. Annet House was built in 1787 by a merchant in the town and was occupied as a dwelling house until the 1930s. The museum tells the story of Linlithgow and its people.
St Michael’s Parish Church, Kirkgate, Linlithgow, EH49 7AL. Open Saturday, September 13, in the morning, and Sunday, September 14, in the afternoon. Activities: Conducted tours. One of the finest parish churches in Scotland, St Michael’s was first dedicated in 1242 and dates from the same period as the neighbouring Linlithgow Palace. Guides will relate its long and rich history to visitors.
Mary’s Meanders. Saturday, September 13, at 10am and Sunday, September 14, at 11am. Booking essential – call Emma on 07818 687066.Join Anne or Ross on a 60- minute tour of Linlithgow. Tales of intrigue, sorrow and laughter at every turn. Discover what it was like to live in Scotland during the last 500 years – as a Queen or as a pauper. Meet at Star and Garter café entrance, adjacent to railway station.
Burgh Halls, The Cross, Linlithgow, EH49 7AH. Open Sunday, September 14, 11am-5pm. Facilities WC (including disabled), cafe. The original building dates from the 17th century and has gone through several adaptations and renovations. It is now a unique venue that celebrates the rich heritage of Linlithgow and provides stylish, modern facilities to meet current demands.