Katie looks forward to coronation

Kirkliston Gala Day Queen-elect Katie Cleland
Kirkliston Gala Day Queen-elect Katie Cleland

Kirkliston Primary pupil 
Katie Cleland is looking 
forward to a royal cele-
bration this June after she was chosen as this year’s gala queen.

Kirkliston Primary pupil Katie Cleland is looking forward to a royal celebration this June after she was chosen as this year’s gala queen.

Katie, who lives with parents Rachel and Robin and brother Harry, is delighted to have been chosen.

The primary seven youngster told the Journal Gazette: “I’m really excited about it and am looking forward to the day.

“I’m going to have a long white dress and we will be decorating the house.”

On being selected, Katie (11) added: ‘‘I didn’t think I would be picked but when my name came out, I was surprised and overwhelmed.’’

A keen musician, she plays the piano and clarinet, and lists drama, art and writing as her favourite subjects at school.

And dad Robin added: ‘‘Don’t forget the dancing, she loves to dance non-stop.’’

The Queen and her court were chosen as the result of a draw last week.

The man with the honour of crowning this year’s Queen is David Pomfret, chairman of Queensferry Care in the Community.

His selection followed a public nomination process where his name was put forward numerous times for his work over the years in the community.

The full retinue for Kirkliston Gala Day is: Queen, Katie Cleland; Lady in Waiting, Megan Tulloch; Queen of the Fairies, Cara Howie; Queen of the Flowers, Rhian Murphy; Flower Girls - Tayla Brasch, Roisin Bruen, Eve Eisler, Eve Ferrol, Elyse Kilpatrick, Kacey Lauder, Amie-Louise Nevin, Amy Robinson, Morgan Scott, Tegyn Wilson; Bower Girls, Mia Aitchison, Georgia Hope, Megan Lees, Lisa Mackie, Lucy Martin, Claire McIntosh, Holly Mullett, Naomi Stewart, Joanna Tulloch, Maja Wojcik; Herald, Mark Miller; Champion, Lyall Marshall; Head of Highlands, James Haxton; Crown Bearer, Cameron Brown; Sceptre Bearer, Brandon Brown; Queens Guard, Matthew Brodley and Cameron Moutter; Flag carrier, Joe Meikle; Banner Boy, Ross Young and Ewan Mottar; Clansman, Ross Chapman and Jack Chapman, Braw Lads, Charlie Geany and Lewis Hamilton Braun; Bouquet Girl, Alana Ferguson and Emily Jameson; Fairies, Rowan Cameron, Eden Campbell, Lucy Devin, Leia Harris, Eva Hewitson, Amy Jones, Ruby Lauder, Lauren MacNeil, Louisa McKeown, Lucy Jo McKenzie, Lily McLeod, Julia Melville, Rachel Miller, Mira Mishra, Isla Mullett, Eriska Paterson, Brooke Paton, Renee Phillips, Fiona Ramsay, Georgia Scholes, Kirsten Small, Andrea Stevenson, Ellen Walker, Hannah Young; Highland Laddies, Lewis Aitken, Lewis Anderson, Thomas Archibald, Michael Ashaye, Aran Boyle, Daniel Boyne, Daniel Findlay, Montgomery Forrest-Eber, Cameron Forster, Daniel Forsyth, Liam Gaffney, Mateo Garzon Berry, Daniel Henderson, Finlay Hoy, Ewan Kinghorn, Sean Kremeyer-Clifford, Young-joon Lee, Jamie Mackay, Oliver Mackay, Calhan McGill, Liam McGrath, Jack McLay, Oliver Nimmo, Max Pettigrew, Jan Radwan,