Pupils pick Louise as Queen

Bo'ness Fair Queen is pictured with key retinue members
Bo'ness Fair Queen is pictured with key retinue members

Preparations are well underway for this year’s Bo’ness Fair now the new Queen Elect has been revealed.

Louise Wilson was voted into the role by fellow pupils at Deanburn Primary.

Her mum Barbara was delighted when she received a call from headteacher Mhairi Ogilvie.

Barbara said: “It was a wonderful surprise. We were delighted for Louise – the whole family is.

“There’s lots of planning ahead. I’m hoping to get in touch with a dressmaker 
today and get things started.

“It’s a real privilege to be chosen and it’s nice that the whole school voted for her.

“We are really proud of Louise. She’s quite a girlie girl so I’m sure she will be well suited to the role.”

Fair committee officials attended the school on Tuesday to help with the 
voting. Each child was able to vote for one boy and one girl.

Headteacher Mhairi Ogilvie said: “It was a really exciting day.

“The children didn’t know it was going to happen so it was a big surprise but the whole process went really smoothly.

‘‘Louise is a popular choice and I am sure she and all her retinue will rise to the occasion on Fair Day.

“Now there is a very busy time ahead with lots of preparation in the school before the big day.”

Eleven-year-old Louise is excited about the big day.

She said: “When they announced I was Queen, I just didn’t know what to do!

“I thought, am I supposed to go up to the front? I had butterflies in my tummy and I was really excited.

“I’ve been thinking about my dress – I don’t want anything too puffy; I just want it to be flowing.”

Key retinue members: Queen-elect, Louise Wilson; Chief Lady-in-Waiting, Freyja Nash; Queen of the Flower Girls, Daniele Shanks; Queen of the Fairies, Estelle Andress; Champion, Jamie Ogg; Chief Lord-in-Waiting, Dean Gardner; Lord-in-Waiting, Jake Rooney; Heralds, Aiden Kellock, Mark Mitchell; Crown-Bearer, Jay Hyslop; Sceptre-Bearer, Kyle Milligan; Sword-Bearer, Carter Ferguson; Yeoman of the Guard, Ryan MacPhee and Josh Whatley; Page boys, Ben Miller and Jamie Stein; Guards of Honour, Jay Young, Dylan Leadbetter, Lee Sneddon, Jak Learmonth, Oliver Mole, Joe Rooney and Cameron Thomson. Ladies-in-Waiting; Anna McGillivray, Hayleigh Templeton, Lauren Baxter, Erin Beecroft, Meghan Bennie, Isla Cadman, Abby Keeble, Lauren Manning and Maids-of-Honour; Lauren Blaney, Aleesha Cochrane, Leona Gray, Carla McCue, Abbie Paterson, Emma Reid, Natalie Simpson and Eilidh Smith