Schools close to aid voting on Thursday

The latest on the local election 2012
The latest on the local election 2012

PARENTS are reminded that primary schools may be closed on Thursday (May 3) because of the local council elections.

Not all polling places are schools though, so we’ve put together an on-line guide to where to vote in your ward.

Bo’ness voters have a total of eight polling stations - Cowdenhill Community Centre, Bo’ness Recreation Centre, Blackness Community Hall, Boness Town Hall, the Salvation Army Hall, Kinneil Primary School, Kinneil Bowling Club and Deanburn Primary School.

Falkirk Council confirmed that Kinneil Primary and Deanburn Primary will be closed to pupils on Thursday.

Queensferry voters go to the polls at Queensferry Primary School, Echline Primary School and Dalmeny Parish Church hall with Kirkliston voters using the village community centre.

Both the above schools will be closed on polling day.

Polling places in Linlithgow are: Chalmers Hall, Main Street; Linlithgow Primary (school and nursery closed); Queen Margaret Hall, Blackness Road; St Ninian’s Craigmailen Parish Church Hall; Springfield Primary Community Wing (school open).

Newton Community Centre, Philpstoun Community Centre and Bridgend Village Hall are polling stations as is Winchburgh Primary school (school open, nursery closed) and Winchburgh Community Centre.

The community centre is the venue for polling in Torphichen.