Stars of Bo’ness Children’s Fair Festival selected

Youngsters have been selected for the Bo'ness Fair
Youngsters have been selected for the Bo'ness Fair

The stars of this summer’s Bo’ness Children’s Fair Festival have been chosen, as the anticipation builds for this year’s big event.

Grange Primary School pupils have picked Maddison Chapman to be the 2016 Queen on June 24, a day that is set to be another success in the long and traditional history of the Bo’ness Fair.

Once again, the fine display is expected to attract visitors in their droves, including enthusiasts from across the world.

And, for those who cannot be there on the day, the event is now streamed online, meaning people can watch the Fair day as it happens no matter where they are.

Scott McBride, vice chairman of the Bo’ness Fair Committee, said: “I would just like to congratulate all the children who have been chosen for retinue this year.

“I want to wish them the best of luck on the day; I’m sure they will make their families very proud.

“The Bo’ness Fair is the most important day in the local calendar and it is the best day of our year.

“This event goes back over 100 years and it’s now streamed across the world. So if you can’t make it, don’t worry, watch it online.”

Joining Queen Elect Maddison on the day are Chief Lady in Waiting Emma Scotland and Champion Jamie McRae.

Others with positions include: Yeoman of the Guard: Logan Young, Lucas McCrimmond; Queen of the Fairies: Sophie Morrison; Queen of the Flowergirls: Sarah Barkhouse; Queen’s Heralds: Matthew Taylor, Owen Watkins; Lords in Waiting: Sam Allan, Zach Teegarden; Crown Bearer: James Honeyford; Sceptre Bearer: Emerick Falconie; Sword Bearer: Lee Dowell; Page Boys: Fraser Gemmell, Ben Murdoch; Ladies in Waiting: Zoe Anderson, Niamh Alldred, Hollie Alldred, Alexandra McKay, Evie Allan, Megan Bell, Elise March; Maids of Honour: Kayleigh Bladen, Kaitlyn Paul, Kaliesha Stewart, Danielle McKinlay, Rebecca Livingstone, Eve Marshall, Kaityln Forrrest, Nicole Dunsmore; Guards of Honour: Kenzie McDougall, Ritchie Grant, Mark Wotherspoon, Robbie Murdoch, Kenzi Nair, Aaron Bloomfield, Callum Bloomfield, Ewan Blair, Owen Barkhouse.