George Allan Memorial Cup returns to Linlithgow

THE George Allan Memorial Cup returned to the Royal Burgh this year when Linlithgow Primary’s Lokomotiv team steamed to victory.

The annual football festival for local primary schools took place on Sunday and Lokomotiv LPS wrestled the cup away from last year’s winners, Grange Primary in Bo’ness. The team beat the Low Port Lions in a closely-contested final, which was an exciting climax to another very successful event at Prestonfield.

200512 george allen memorial football competition.

200512 george allen memorial football competition.

Teams from Linlithgow, Linlithgow Bridge, Winchburgh and Bo’ness competed in two league sections at either end of the ground. In the developmental Reston League, Springfield Barca emerged unbeaten and triumphed over St. Joe’s FC in the final to win the George Allan Shield.

In the more advanced Gallagher League, Low Port Lions topped the table ahead of Lokomotiv LPS, but the Linlithgow Primary team won the decisive final match to carry off the George Allan Trophy. Special awards in the Reston League went to Euan Catleugh of Springfield and Finlay Brownridge of Grange, and in the Gallagher League to Ryan Cairns from Linlithgow PS and Harry Pegg from Linlithgow Bridge.

Festival organiser Murdoch Kennedy thanked everyone for making the event such a success and paid particular tribute to the Rotary Club of Linlithgow and Bo’ness, the Weatherston family from Dovecot Park, and the Linlithgow and District Tartan Army, for their financial support.