‘Cheesetown Boys’ win Rosebery Trophy

2014 Rosebery Trophy winners
2014 Rosebery Trophy winners
Share this article

Kirkliston’s tradition in the Rosebery Cup is strong and the ‘Cheesetown Boys’ etched their name on the historic trophy for a 23rd time, defeating Buchan Park by two shots in the 2014 final.

The confrontation between the finalists will rank as one of the best ever with the outcome going right down to the wire as an epic 84-end battle ended with Kirkliston staging a thrilling escape to victory with a sensational count of five on end 83.

Buchan Park had come into the final as underdogs against the defending champions but justified wins over Bathgate and Linlithgow by almost leading from 
pillar to post.

But they were denied the crowning glory by the headline stars of the show in the shape of the rink skipped by Commonwealth Games select player Neil Speirs.

The phase scoring over the four rinks paints the picture of Kirkliston being outscored 26-21 over the first seven ends and 26-19 over the second then turning the tables with a 38-24 fight back on third but 
hides the drama.

Speirs and his front three were left in isolation on the green with four ends still to play at which stage Kirkliston trailed by two shots 
in the match.

Singles were exchanged at ends 18 and 19 then with the temperature reaching fever pitch the Kirkliston front-three showed great composure and skill to build a head of five shots.

Kirkliston carded the five to go into the final end defending a three-shot lead – the first of the match – and the front-end built a head of three shots but Mackie trailed the jack to hold 
three for BP.

Speirs asked Allison to strike the head which the third duly did twice to remove all three BP bowls and convert for two.

Irvine produced a thunderbolt aiming for a two-bowl take-out to win the match and went close but only ended up counting a single.