Record turnout for cross country event

Linlithgow Athletic Club members
Linlithgow Athletic Club members
Share this article

There was a record turnout at Alloa for the second meeting of the East District Cross Country League, with 732 athletes completing one of the toughest courses in the country.

Linlithgow AC fielded one of their largest ever teams with 21 runners competing across various age groups.

Heavy overnight rain had guaranteed that this event would provide a challenge.

First up at the mud-fest were the under 11 boys, with Andrew McGill and Eoin Richardson competing in LAC colours. Andrew produced a stunning performance to finish second in a time of 6:16 with Eoin 12th in 6:49.

Sarah Moody competed in the under 13 girls, finishing 80th in 19:32. Under 13 boys had Jamie Lumsden in 54th place at 13:58 and Lewis Kilgour was was 45th in the under 15 boys in 20:56.

In the senior women’s, Charly Fortune was first home for the club in 26:33 (19th place). Other LAC results: Louisa Cockburn, 65th, 32:21; Felicity Harrison, 69th, 33:39; Jill Horsburgh, 72nd, 33:57 and Alison Marshall, 77th, 34:55. The LAC Women’s team secured 11th place.

In the senior men’s race, David Marshall was first home for the club in 36:48 (67th place). Other results: John Smith, 131st, 40:13; Scott Cockburn, 133rd, 40:18; Paul Dudchenko, 134th, 40:20; Kenneth Leamy, 138th, 40:30; Angus Gallie, 144th, 40:47; Neil Barnes, 158th, 41:25; Darren Dick, 198th, 44:59; Graham Burrows, 214th, 46:21; Bryan Grome, 217th, 46:30 and Ian Campbell, 230th, 47:50. The LAC Men’s team finished 13th.