West Lothian Clarion kids success

Share this article

COMPETITION is gearing up in the race series run by West Lothian Clarion Kids Club.

Following the successful mountain bike race at Bo’ness, next up was the crit race at Oracle in Linlithgow.

Using the rear car park, organiser and kids club coach Matthew Ball devised a great course with long straights, technical corners and a steep descent.

Following a one-lap time trial, the kids were split into age groups and raced round the course for a set number of laps. The Youth D and E boys were the most competitive groups, with a number of strong performances across both races, notably from Alex Ball, Ruari Bell, Finn Mason and Rory Martin.

Next up was a grass track race at Linlithgow Leisure Centre. The competition was again strong across the field, particularly across the Youth D and E boys and Youth D girls. Eventual winners in each section were James Dunlop (D boys), Finn Mason (E boys) and Abbie Mason (D girls).

Youth D winner James Dunlop said: “I was really happy to win my first race of the series and can’t wait for the next one!”

Club coach Matthew Ball added: “Both race events were fantastic and it was great to see so many kids taking part. The Tour de France is exciting a lot of our riders at the moment and some of our top sprinters would give Mark Cavendish a run for his money!”

West Lothian Clarion Kids Club is aimed at kids aged 6-15 and sessions run from March to November using Linlithgow Leisure Centre, the Oracle car park and the Kinneil Woods in Bo’ness, as different racing 

Club president David Mason said: “I would like to thank all of the coaches for their help in organising and running the race events, the parents for their support, and of course the kids for taking part.”

Selected results: Crit race

Youth B Boys: 1. Michael Brocklebank; 2, Ryan 

Youth D Boys: 1. Alex Ball; 2. Ruari Bell; 3. Andrew Turner

Youth E Boys: 1. Finn 
Mason; 2. Rory Martin; 3. Sam Marshall

Selected results: Grass track

Youth D Boys: 1. James Dunlop; 2. Andrew Turner; 3. Alex Ball

Youth D Girls: 1. Abbie Mason; 2. Leah Grant; 3. Eilidh McFadden

Youth E Boys: 1. Finn 
Mason; 2. Rory Martin; 3. Sam Marshall